Equality Act 2010

The Equality Act 2010 brings together and consolidates the law relating to discrimination and equal opportunities. It is unlawful to discriminate on the grounds of:

• Sex
• Marital or civil partnership status
• Race
• Gender assignment
• Religious belief
• Sexual orientation
• Pregnancy or maternity leave
• Age
• Disability

There are four principal ways in which a person may discriminate against another

• Direct discrimination
• Indirect discrimination
• Victimisation
• Harassment

The law relating to discrimination is relatively complex and, if you feel that you are being discriminated against in the workplace on one or more of the listed grounds above, you should take immediate legal advice.

Please leave your reply here: